Recognition for outstanding achievements in the geological field in the Netherlands

The society has a number of ways to recognize excellent Earth Science work in the Netherlands: the Waterschoot van der Gracht Medal, the Escher Award and the appointment of Honorary Members. The KNGMG also organizes an annual Staring lecture in commemoration of this pioneer of geological research in the Netherlands.

More information about the awards and honors can be found on the following pages:

Vening Meinesz award

a personal award for young Earth and Environmental researchers.

Van Waterschoot van der Gracht Medal

the highest honor that can be awarded in the Netherlands to exceptionally deserving earth scientists.

Honorary members

honorary membership can be awarded to persons who have made a special contribution to the Society.

Staring lecture

annual lecture, delivered on or around the anniversary of the birth of Dr. W.C.H. Staring (1808-1877), who pioneered geological research in the Netherlands.

Core of the KNGMG

expression of thanks to people who form the core of the KNGMG. In all cases, these are people who have made an exceptional contribution to our association for many years.

Escher award

award for the best master’s thesis in the Netherlands.

Jelgersma award

award for the best bachelor’s thesis in the Netherlands.

Top picture © Photo by Jason Hogan on Unsplash